Adigun Temitope Idealism
3 min readJan 1, 2024

2023 in review

Election year is always known for uncontrollable economic inflation and mixed feelings from citizens of the country; 2023 was not an exception in this regard. Whether you are rich or poor, I believe we all got our fair share of the year. Because of the election, a series of hate speeches and online bullying were flying from the nooks and crannies of the country. There are lots of "blulabalus" that we couldn't justify last year.

1. The year 2023 started on a good note. I became serious with the (Black Media Brands Studios) Black Media Brands YouTube channel; hence, I began writing, directing, and editing comedy skits with some friends of mine in our spare time. This boosted the visibility of the YouTube channel and opened up a new idea.

2. In order not to make the BLACK PRIDE Magazine page stagnant, I brought up the initiative of celebrating some personalities every month, which was tagged 'person of the month.' We had 12 personalities being celebrated throughout the year 2023. It was also an imprint to know more about these personalities.

3. I got more serious about music distribution and artists' management. I was able to help my artist (Callouxx) distribute his debut and sophomore tracks on all music platforms. It didn't end there; I shot and edited his debut song, 'Dandan' lyrics video. It was all fun, but tasking. I learned a lot from that job.

4. My Masters' degree final semester exam and the project came. It shook me unaware. I was broken by the stress I had to pass through to finish the program. My supervisor made me blame why I chose to do my masters in Nigeria. I took ill during the process of finishing my project and also during my defense. It was as if the earth wanted to swallow me. With the motivation of my egbon, Hon. Oniga Kazeem, my sister, Oluranti Falade Ajayi, my mom, Kehinde Ajayi Adigun, my friends, and my brother, Popoola Boluwatife Babatunde, I completed the program.

5. At the beginning of the second quarter of 2023, I wrote some stories on my laptop. I decided to put those stories into film scripts. I showed my friends the scripts. To them, the stories are good. I told them it was time to shoot a film, and they concurred. So we started planning. We fixed a date. I discussed with John Chizoba Vincent the whole idea and how we could partner with him to make the film a reality. He told me that he was ready to support me, and he also advised me to try as much as possible to ensure I did it that year. There are angels in human form, and John is one of them.

6. The first date chosen for the movie production was later not successful because my Masters examination was fixed for that date. This affected all the plans we had. We had no choice but to reschedule the production date. My Masters project also affected my financial capability; this made us choose a short film script apart from the one we had planned to shoot. The initial plan changed, and this brought about "Bruises Behind Closed Doors." The short film is coming out this year, 2024.

7. I thought I had left music reviewing until the opportunity came, and I realized it was still in me.

8. Lastly, I have been receiving gifts this new year; if you have not sent yours, please don't forget me, and remember that February 27th is my birthday. 📦

To those of you who refused to marry, God is looking at you guys.

Happy New Year to you all

#DATI

Adigun Temitope Idealism

Adigun Temitope Idealism is a creative writer, filmmaker, freelance journalist, street photographer, and content creator. He’s a graduate of Mass Communication.